The University of Mississippi
Department of Physics and Astronomy

Seminars/Colloquia, Fall 2016

Unless noted otherwise, Tuesday Colloquia are at 4:00 pm
with refreshments served 15 minutes before each colloquium.

Scheduling for additional seminars will vary.

Date/Place Speaker Title (and link to abstract)
Tue, Aug 23
Lewis 101
   
Tue, Aug 30
Lewis 101
Department Faculty, Staff and Students Ice Cream Social (PDF)
Tue, Sep 6
Lewis 101
  Orals for the Comprehensive Exam
Tue, Sep 13
Lewis 101
Michael S Turner
Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics
University of Chicago
The Big Picture: What We Know About How the Universe Began and What We Are Trying to Find Out
PowerPoint(165 MB) PDF(117 MB)
Tue, Sep 20
Lewis 101
Don Summers et al.
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Mississippi
Fascinating Physics Demonstrations    
Tue, Sep 27
Lewis 101
Don Summers Presenting
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Mississippi
Powers of Ten
Tue, Oct 4
Lewis 101
   
Tue, Oct 11
Lewis 101
   
Tue, Oct 18
Lewis 101
 
 
Tue, Oct 25
Lewis 101
Matteo Rini
Deputy Editor
American Physical Society
Science!
Tue, Nov 1
Lewis 101
Jeremy Sakstein
Department of Physics and Astronomy University of Pennsylvania
Testing Gravity
Tue, Nov 8
Lewis 101
Mairi Sakellariadou
Department of Physics
King's College — London
Unweaving the Fabric of the Universe
Fri, Nov 11
Lewis 101
Gregory Cook
Department of Physics
Wake Forest University
Numerical Gravity
Tue, Nov 15
Lewis 101
Karelle Siellez
Center for Relativistic Astrophysics
Georgia Institute of Technology
 
Tue, Nov 22
Lewis 101
Thomas Turkey
Department of Nutrition
Virginia Tech
Continuing Advantages of a Vegetarian Diet
Tue, Nov 29
Lewis 101
   
Tue, Dec 06
Lewis 101
Final Exam Week  

This page has been viewed 29773 times.
The physics colloquium organizer is Don Summers
This page is maintained by David Sanders
Latest update: Wednesday, 28-Sep-2016 14:12:53 CDT

Past semesters: 

Abstracts of Talks


Michael S Turner
Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics
University of Chicago

The Big Picture: What We Know About How the Universe Began and What We Are Trying to Find Out

Today the Universe is made out of dark matter, dark energy and a small amount of ordinary matter (the atoms we are made of). We can trace the history of the Universe back to when it was a microsecond and was a formless quark soup. We now have good evidence for an early burst of tremendous expansion (inflation) that stretched sub-atomic quantum fluctuations to astrophysical size and created the seeds for galaxies. But there is much to figure out, including what dark matter is made of, what the nature of the mysterious dark energy is, and when inflation took place.


Don Summers et al.
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Mississippi

Fascinating Physics Demonstrations

Fifty minutes of fascinating physics demonstrations, including milk jug rockets, will be presented.


Don Summers Presenting
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Mississippi

Powers of Ten

Powers of Ten illustrates the universe as an arena of both continuity and change, of everyday picnics and cosmic mystery. It begins with a close-up shot of a man sleeping near the lakeside in Chicago, viewed from one meter away. The landscape steadily moves out until it reveals the edge of the known universe. Then, at a rate of 10-to-the-tenth meters per second, the film takes us towards Earth again, continuing back to the sleeping man's hand and eventually down to the level of a carbon atom.