The University of Mississippi
Department of Physics and Astronomy

Seminars/Colloquia, Fall 2019

Unless noted otherwise, Tuesday Colloquia are at 4:00 PM
with refreshments served 15 minutes before each colloquium.

Scheduling for additional seminars will vary.

Date/Place Speaker Title (and link to abstract)
Tue, Aug 27
Lewis 101
4:30 PM
Department Faculty
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Mississippi
Introduction to Department Research, followed by Ice Cream Social. (PDF)
Tue, Sep 3
Lewis 101
Bhubanjyoti Bhattacharya
Department of Natural Sciences
Lawrence Technological University
 
Tue, Sep 10
Lewis 101
Department Students
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Mississippi
Reports on Summer Research
Tue, Sep 17
Lewis 101
Department Students
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Mississippi
Reports on Summer Research
Tue, Sep 24
Lewis 101
Carl Jensen
Transducer Technology Group
Bose Corporation
Sound Reproduction and Loudspeaker Structural Modes
Tue, Oct 1
Lewis 101
Michel Villanueva
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Mississippi
The Belle II Experiment
Tue, Oct 9
Lewis 101
 
 
 
 
Tue, Oct 15
Lewis 101
 
 
 
 
Tue, Oct 22
Lewis 101
David Craig
Department of Chemistry and Physics
West Texas A&M University
From Astronomy to Acoustics and Back Again through Undergraduate Research
Tue, Oct 29
Lewis 101
 
 
 
 
Tue, Nov 5
Lewis 101
Logan S. Marcus
Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Chemical and Biological Defense
ANSER, Inc.
Careers in Science Outside of Academia
Tue, Nov 12
Lewis 101
Annemarie Exarhos
Department of Physics
Lafayette College
 
Tue, Nov 19
Lewis 101
 
 
 
 
Tue, Nov 26
Lewis 101
Thomas Turkey
Department of Nutrition
Virginia Tech
Continuing Advantages of a Vegetarian Diet
Tue, Dec 3
Lewis 101
 
 
 
 
Tue, Dec 10
Lewis 101
Final Exam Week  

This page has been viewed 40866 times.
The physics colloquium organizer is Alakabha Datta
This page is maintained by David Sanders
Latest update: Monday, 19-Aug-2019 14:03:45 CDT

Past semesters: 

Abstracts of Talks


Carl Jensen
Transducer Technology Group
Bose Corporation

Sound Reproduction and Loudspeaker Structural Modes

Many familiar sources of sound involve vibrating structures like a piano sound board, an acoustic guitar's body, drums, and all kinds of vibrating machinery. Similarly, almost all technologies for mechanically producing sound also work by exciting some kind of vibrating structure as well, but, in sound reproduction, the goal is to recreate the original recording as accurately as possible. So the fact that all vibrating structures exhibit modal behavior can be good or bad: the diversity and excitation of modes in musical instruments lends them their unique sonic qualities and richness, but these same characteristics are very much unwanted in a loudspeaker meant for accurate reproduction. In this presentation, I'll discuss some of the principles of sound reproduction and perception as well as laying out how we can use computer simulations to untangle the complex acoustic behavior of these modes to understand their behavior and make better sounding loudspeakers.