The University of Mississippi
Department of Physics and Astronomy

Seminars/Colloquia, Spring 2021

Unless noted otherwise, Tuesday Colloquia are at 4:00 PM
Scheduling for additional seminars will vary.

For the Online colloquia, please join Zoom Meeting:
https://olemiss.zoom.us/j/91928227187
Meeting ID: 919 282 27187

Date/Place Speaker Title (and link to abstract)
Tue, Jan 19
Lewis 101
Online
Faculty, Staff and Students
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Mississippi
Meet & Greet Social
Tue, Jan 26
Lewis 101
Online
Karl Warburton
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Iowa State University
NOνA
Tue, Feb 2
Lewis 101
Online
 
 
 
 
Tue, Feb 9
Lewis 101
Online
 
 
 
 
Tue, Feb 16
Lewis 101
Online
 
 
 
 
Tue, Feb 23
Lewis 101
Online
Carl Herickhoff
Biomedical Engineering
University of Memphis
New Directions in Ultrasound Imaging Technology
Tue, Mar 2
Lewis 101
Online
 
 
 
 
Tue, Mar 9
Lewis 101
Online
 
 
 
 
Tue, Mar 16
Lewis 101
Online
 
 
 
 
Tue, Mar 23
Lewis 101
Online
 
 
 
 
Tue, Mar 30
Online
 
 
 
 
Tue, Apr 6
Online
 
 
 
 
Tue, Apr 13
Online
 
 
 
 
Tue, Apr 20
Online
 
 
 
 
Tue, Apr 27
Online
Final Exam Week  

This page has been viewed 45764 times.
The physics colloquium organizer is Gavin Davies
This page is maintained by David Sanders
Latest update: Tuesday, 19-Jan-2021 17:29:39 CST

Past semesters: 

Abstracts of Talks


Carl Herickhoff
Biomedical Engineering
University of Memphis

New Directions in Ultrasound Imaging Technology

Ultrasound has become an established clinical imaging tool in recent decades due to its speed, safety, affordability, and portability, yet biomedical ultrasound technology continues to rapidly advance in new and exciting ways. This talk will give an introduction to ultrasound imaging systems and devices, while also highlighting some current fundamental and applied ultrasound research efforts: intravascular elasticity imaging, dual-frequency superharmonic contrast imaging, large-scale body scanner arrays, low-cost freehand 3D imaging, and integration with augmented-reality displays for live ultrasound image guidance.